Research Grants Assessment Panel

Our Research Grants Assessment Panel consists of scientific and lay members and plays a crucial role in the success of our research programme.

The role of the Panel

  • Oversee the processes involved in the research grants programme
  • Make recommendations to the Board of Trustees on the allocation of research funding, in line with the charity's strategic direction and Research Roadmap. 
  • Advise the charity in development of its Research Strategy, in line with the overall strategic direction
  • Comply with Research Grants Assessment Panel Code of Conduct and the charity's Conflicts of Interest policy.

Panel members

The panel aims to reflect a fair balance of experience and scientific disciplines, with views from all members given equal weighting.


  • Chair: Professor Jon Tobias
  • Vice-Chair: Dr Stephen Tuck
  • Professor Kate Ward
  • Professor Celia Gregson
  • Professor Geeta Hampson
  • Dr Terry Aspray
  • Dr Carolyn Greig
  • Dr Zoe Paskins
  • Dr Sarah Allison
  • Dr Katherine Staines
  • Dr Camille Parsons


  • Patricia Williams
  • Valerie Farr
  • Angela Beattie


Useful downloads:

Further information

We’re driving research and the development of new treatments, working towards a future without osteoporosis.

How you can help