Our Boards of Trustees is supported by five committees. Each plays an important role in shaping what we do, and what our future looks like. They all give their time, energy and expertise for free.

Finance, General Purposes and Audit Committee

The committee considers our policies, practices and contracts, and our financial and operational results.

  • Chair: Peter Gotham
  • James Abbott
  • Richard Darch
  • Ian Cooper
  • Teresa Hicks

Appointments and Governance Committee

The committee reviews the size and composition of the Board of Trustees and committees, and make recommendations to the Board of Trustees for any changes that are deemed necessary.

  • Chair: Professor Neil Gittoes
  • Mrs Frances Grigg
  • Mr Peter Gotham

Clinical and Research Committee

The role of the Clinical and Research Committee (CRC) is to be the first touchpoint for clinical and academic expertise for the Clinical Directorate, Senior Leadership Team and the Board of Trustees – providing leadership and advice on all matters relating to clinical practice, research and innovation, in line with the Royal Osteoporosis Society (ROS) strategy.

Its members are all well respected in the medical and research world, and have specific expertise in the field of osteoporosis.

Below is a list of committee members and their area of expertise:

  • Chair: Professor Emma Clark - Rheumatology
  • Vice chair: Professor David Armstrong - Rheumatology
  • Dr. Gurjit Bhogal - MSK and General Practice
  • Professor Karen Knapp - Radiography
  • Dr. Nicola Peel - Rheumatology
  • Louise Statham - Pharmacy
  • Professor Tahir Masud - Geriatrics
  • Dr. Zaki Hassan-Smith - Endocrinology
  • Professor Karen Barker - Allied Health Professional (Physiotherapy)
  • Dr. Sunil Nedungayil - MSK and General Practice
  • Professor Kassim Javaid - Rheumatology
  • Professor Neil Gittoes - Endocrinology
  • Dr. Zoe Paskins -Rheumatology & applied health services research
  • Dr. Barbara Hauser - Rheumatology
  • Monica Martins - Nuclear Medicine
  • Inder Singh - Physician & Geriatrician 

Lay Members

  • Corinne Turnbull - Sitting Patient Advocate (LVA)
  • Janice McKinley - Sitting Patient Advocate (LVA)
  • Jan Westbury - Deputy Patient Advocate (LVA)
  • Nic Vine - Deputy Patient Advocate (LVA)

Members and Volunteers Committee

The committee is made up of charity members or volunteers, who live all over the UK. They have a wide range of skills and experience, providing valuable insights, views and advice on a wide range of matters relating to the charity's work.

  • Chair: Peter Gotham
  • Irene Baker
  • Janet Boyd
  • Deborah David
  • Ed Donald
  • Sue Doyle
  • Tanya Grenade
  • Paul Herbert (Trustee)
  • Suzanne Hewitt
  • Fiona MacLean
  • Kay Moore
  • Vera Niblock
  • Andrea Scigliano
  • Elisa Sgubin

Clinical Fellows

The Clinical Fellows are senior experts and leaders in the field of osteoporosis who have made substantial and significant contributions to the charity over many years.

In recognition of, and to maintain links with the charity, the Clinical Fellows make a contribution to our advisory community, working alongside other practising academic and operational healthcare professionals.

  • Professor Cyrus Cooper OBE
  • Professor David Barlow
  • Dr Ashok Bhalla
  • Professor Juliet Compston
  • Dr Alun Cooper
  • Dr Louise Dolan
  • Dr Stephen Gallacher
  • Professor Richard Eastell
  • Professor Roger Francis
  • Professor David Marsh
  • Professor Terry O’Neill
  • Professor David Reid
  • Professor Graham Russell
  • Professor Peter Selby
  • Professor Tim Spector
  • Professor Angus Wallace
  • Professor Anthony Woolf

Advisory panels

A number of scientific fora advise us via the Clinical and Research Committee.

Bone Densitometry Training and Advisory Panel

The panel provides advice on the best practice, training and education in the field of bone densitometry (bone density scanning). This panel oversees the planning and organisation of the National Training Scheme for Bone Densitometry and radiation protection (IR(ME)R) courses for operators and practitioners.

Osteoporosis Review Editorial Board

The board oversees the scientific content and production of the charity’s journal, Osteoporosis Review.

Osteoporosis Conference Planning Committee

The committee advises on the organisation of the event and oversees the scientific content of the conference programme.

Research and Innovation Grants Assessment Panel

The panel oversees the research and innovation grants programme and makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees on the allocation of research funding.

  • Chair: Professor Jon Tobias

Scientific Members

  • Dr Stephen Tuck (Vice-Chair)
  • Professor Clare Jinks
  • Professor Andrew Sturrock
  • Professor Katie Sheehan
  • Dr Sarah Allison
  • Dr Camille Parsons

Lay Members

  • Valerie Farr
  • Angela Beattie
  • Sheena Muncie

Remuneration Committee

The committee reviews our remuneration policy, and makes recommendations for changes to the Board of Trustees.

  • Chair: Professor Neil Gittoes
  • Mrs Frances Grigg
  • Mr Peter Gotham
  • Ms Judith Lyons

We’re driving research and the development of new treatments, working towards a future without osteoporosis.

How you can help

Help our specialist nurses continue to support those in need